Darwin's Sister Cities

Events Volunteer Call Out!

We are currently recruiting volunteers for upcoming Sister City events.  Read the position descriptions below for more information and call 8930 0695 or email h.barich@darwin.nt.gov.au to sign-up.

Trying out traditional painting

International Relations Newsletters

Click the links below to read past editions of our International Relations eNewsletters.

Darwin's Sister Cities

City of Darwin has been an active participant in the Sister City Movement since establishing its first joint agreement with Kalymnos in Greece in 1982.

The mission of the Darwin Sister Cities Program is to increase international understanding with our sister city partners through promotion of international communication and exchange at the community level.

Since the inaugural Kalymnos signing, other agreements have been sealed with cities and communities as diverse as Anchorage in Alaska, Ambon in Indonesia, Haikou in China, Milikapiti in the Territory's Tiwi Islands, and Dili in Timor Leste.

The dates and places of signings are listed below in chronological order.

Kalymnos: Signing 23 April 1982 in Darwin