Skip to main content
Home / About Council / Council & Committees / Committees / International Relations Advisory Committee

The International Relations Advisory Committee acts in an advisory capacity, making recommendations to the City Futures Committee in regards to partnership development, knowledge sharing, cultural protocols, and projects undertaken between Darwin and each city.

The International Relations Advisory Committee (IRAC) acts in an advisory capacity, making recommendations to Council in regards to partnership development, knowledge sharing, cultural protocols and strategic vision for City of Darwin.

The IRAC also provides advice and direction regarding projects undertaken between Darwin and the Sister Cities. 

With representation from Federal Government through Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Northern Territory Government, Chamber of Commerce and Charles Darwin University, Larrakia Nation and the Arts and Cultural sector as well as Sister Cities the IRAC is an important resource for City of Darwin.

International Relations Advisory Committee Members

Left to Right:

  • Stacey Faraway - International Director CDU
  • Cecilia Brennan - Director DFAT NT
  • Gary Haslett - City of Darwin Alderman
  • Lord Mayor Kon Vatskalis
  • Mick Palmer - City of Darwin Alderman
  • Tony Miaoudis - Chair of Kalymnos Sister City Subcommittee
  • Rob Cooper - CEO Larrakia Nation
  • Lori Montgomery - Chair of Anchorage Sister City Subcommittee
  • Kate Walker - Director International Engagement NTG
  • Rick Setter - Chair of Ambon Sister City Subcommittee

Members not in the pictured are;

  • Franchesca Cubillo - Chair of Darwin Aboriginal Art Fair
  • Tim Hill - Chair of Haikou Sister City Subcommittee
  • Katharine Taylor - Chair of Dili Sister City Subcommittee
  • Greg Bicknell  - Chamber of Commerce

Become a member of a Sister City Subcommittee

We welcome applications to join our Sister City Subcommittees, which sit under the International Relations Advisory Committee. Complete the nomination form.


Who can be a member?

Anyone from the community can nominate to be a member. Committees comprise of Community Representatives, Youth Representatives and Elected Members.

What is a Community Representative?

Anyone can nominate to be a community representative. As a community representative it is your responsibility to provide community knowledge and input in decision making.

What is a Youth Representative?

Youth representative positions are open to persons aged 26 years and under. As a youth representative it is your responsibility to provide a youth perspective into decision making.

Is there a selection criteria that I need to meet to become a member?

When selecting members for Sister City Subcommittees, we look for the following attributes and qualities:

An understanding and passion for the sister cities philosophy.
Ability to contribute skills and knowledge to enhance the decision making process of the Committee.
Willingness to operate within the guidelines of the program.
Motivation and enthusiasm to participate in committee meetings and activities.

How often do Subcommittees meet?


More information

For further information contact the International Relations Project Officer on

08 8930 0300

Help us improve this site