Skip to main content

The Young Territory Author Awards is an annual writing competition open to all Northern Territory residents aged 18 years and under.

Each year more than 300 children across the Northern Territory submit original books they have created to compete to be named the Young Territory Author of the year.  Prizes are also awarded for the best school, regional and age category entries.

2018 Winners

Young Territory Author of the Year - Tiger-Lily Clements for Anathema

School Entry Winner - Berry Springs Primary School Moth Mob for The Very Hungry Atlas Moth Caterpillar

Regional Awards
Darwin Winner  - Alice Cotter for A Creamy, Sandy, Peachy, Band-Aid Kind of Colour
Palmerston Winner - Kiara Thompson for The Lost Soul
Litchfield Winner - Lily Purdon for Asbaik Island
Katherine Winner - Olivia Russel for The Messy Dog
Alice Springs Winner - Fynn Henderson for The Kidnapping

8 years and under 
Winner - Jana Anne de Klerk for Shoal Bay With No Fish
Highly Commended - Olivia Russel for The Messy Dog
Encouragement Award - Noah Stoeckl for A Meerkat Adventure

9 to 12 years
Winner - Lacey O'Brien for Boys Don't Sing
Highly Commended - Pryha Allen-Bell for The Gargoyle That Winked
Encouragement Award - Jack Flanagan for The Lost Planet
Encouragement Award - Kiara Thompson for illustrating The Lost Planet

13 to 15 years
Winner - Elisha Petit for Perception
Highly Commended - Lucas Tester for The Battle of Menin Road Ridge
Encouragement Award - Tennille Bulters for Stuck in the Shop!

16 to 18 years
Winner - Chloe Davis for Royalty
Highly Commended - Thomas Lambert for A Small Bar in a Big World
Encouragement Award - Ainul Nadjamuddin for Regret

Congratulations to all our winners and to all of our amazing authors who entered last year's Awards.

Previous Years' Winners

2018 Tiger-Lily Clements
2017 Jessica Phelan
2016 Alice Cotter
2015 Sascha Duffy
2014 Irini Melas
2013 Yasna Delo
2012 Shayla Moses
2011 Ella Hardiman & Tjina Stoll
2010 Isabella Hope Tester
2009 Timothy Hansen
2008 Rosanna Cameron
2007 Sophie Philip
2006 Dean Holzwart
2005 Karina Brabham
2004 Lauren Crabbe
2003 Erin Pearce
2002 Amanda Deacon and Penny Cameron
2001 Penny Cameron
2000 Guy Spielman
1999 Jessica Rose
1998 Melanie Robinson
1997 Karen Bryce
1996 David Palmer
1995 Yvonne Medel
1994 Aaron Tucker
1993 Aaron Tucker
1992 Megan Jacobson
1991 Arvin Roach

The books are available at Casuarina Library for the public to view and borrow. 

Help us improve this site