

# MINUTES

# East Point Reserve Advisory Committee Meeting Thursday, 14 November 2024

Date: Thursday, 14 November 2024

Time: 4:30 PM

Location: Meeting Room Bidjpidji (Meeting Room 1) Level 1, Civic Centre Harry Chan Avenue, Darwin

#### MINUTES OF CITY OF DARWIN EAST POINT RESERVE ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING HELD AT THE MEETING ROOM BIDJPIDJI (MEETING ROOM 1), LEVEL 1, CIVIC CENTRE, HARRY CHAN AVENUE, DARWIN ON THURSDAY, 14 NOVEMBER 2024 AT 4:30 PM

# PRESENT:

Councillor Kim Farrar Museum and Art Gallery of the NT Kirsten Abbott Community Representative Lorraine Corowa Friends of East Point Helen Haritos Community Representative Ulrike Kachel Birdlife Top End Amanda Lilleyman Researcher John Rawsthorne Darwin Triathlon Club Gary Wall Fannie Bay Equestrian Club Anja Zimmermann

# OFFICERS

Nick Fewster (Executive Manager Environment & Waste Services) Emma Smith (Coordinator Environment and Climate Change) Kali Stepto (Business Support Officer)

## **APOLOGY:**

NT Heritage Samantha Wells Larrakia Nation Victor Williams

# NOT PRESENT

Crown Lands NTG Racheal Curtain

# Order of Business

1	Meeting Declared Open4		4
2	Apologies and Leave of Absence		4
3	Electro	Electronic Meeting Attendance	
4	Declaration of Interest of Members and Staff		5
5	Confirmation of Previous Minutes		5
6	Officer Reports		6
	6.1	Chair of East Point Reserve Advisory Committee	6
	6.2	Officer Updates	6
7	Membe	Member Reports	
	7.1	Members Updates	6
8	Questions by Members6		6
9	General Business		7
10	Closure of Meeting7		7

Fannie Bay Equestrian Club Inc. Anja Zimmermann was not present at the commencement of the meeting.

# APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR

## COMMITTEE RESOLUTION EPRAC013/24

Moved: Community Representative Ulrike Kachel Seconded: Community Representative Lorraine Corowa

THAT Councillor Kim Farrar is appointed as interim chair for the meeting.

CARRIED 8/0

## ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

City of Darwin acknowledges that we are living and working on Larrakia Country. We acknowledge the Larrakia people as the Traditional Owners of the Darwin region. We pay our respects to the Larrakia elders past and present and support emerging Larrakia leaders now and into the future. City of Darwin is committed to working together with all Larrakia to care for this land and sea for our shared future.

# 1 MEETING DECLARED OPEN

# **COMMITTEE RESOLUTION EPRAC014/24**

Moved: Councillor Kim Farrar Seconded: Community Representative Ulrike Kachel

The Chair declared the meeting open at 4:38 pm.

CARRIED 8/0

# 2 APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE

## 2.1 APOLOGIES

## COMMITTEE RESOLUTION EPRAC015/24

Moved: Councillor Kim Farrar Seconded: Community Representative Ulrike Kachell

THAT the apology for Samantha Wells be received.

CARRIED 8/0

FANNIE BAY EQUESTRIAN CLUB INC. ANJA ZIMMERMAN JOINED THE MEETING AT 4:39PM.

# 3 ELECTRONIC MEETING ATTENDANCE

# 3.1 ELECTRONIC MEETING ATTENDANCE GRANTED

The following members attended the meeting electronically:

- Museum and Art Gallery of the NT Kirsten Abbott
- Community Representative Lorraine Corowa
- Friends of East Point Helen Haritos
- Birdlife Top End Amanda Lilleyman
- Researcher John Rawsthorne
- Darwin Triathlon Club Gary Wall

# 4 DECLARATION OF INTEREST OF MEMBERS AND STAFF

# 4.1 DECLARATION OF INTEREST BY MEMBERS

#### **COMMITTEE RESOLUTION EPRAC016/24**

Moved: Councillor Kim Farrar Seconded: Community Representative Ulrike Kachel

Committee members made the following declaration:

- Community representative Lorraine Corowa declared that the views expressed at this committee are her personal views as a community representative and not the views of her senior public servant role within the Northern Territory Government.
- Community representative Ulrike Kachel declared that she is also on the Committee for Friends of Casuarina Coastal Reserve.

CARRIED 9/0

## 4.2 DECLARATION OF INTEREST BY STAFF

Nil

# 5 CONFIRMATION OF PREVIOUS MINUTES

## **COMMITTEE RESOLUTION EPRAC017/24**

Moved: Darwin Triathlon Club Gary Wall Seconded: Museum and Art Gallery of the NT Kirsten Abbott

THAT the minutes of the East Point Reserve Advisory Committee Meeting held on 15 August 2024 be confirmed.

CARRIED 9/0

# 6 OFFICER REPORTS

# 6.1 CHAIR OF EAST POINT RESERVE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

## **COMMITTEE RESOLUTION EPRAC018/24**

Moved: Community Representative Ulrike Kachel Seconded: Community Representative Lorraine Corowa

- 1. THAT the report entitled Chair of East Point Reserve Advisory Committee be received and noted.
- 2. THAT the East Point Reserve Advisory Committee endorse Councillor Kim Farrar as the new Chair for a two-year term from 14 November 2024 to 13 November 2026.

CARRIED 9/0

## 6.2 OFFICER UPDATES

## COMMITTEE RESOLUTION EPRAC019/24

Moved: Councillor Kim Farrar Seconded: Fannie Bay Equestrian Club Inc. Anja Zimmermann

THAT the report entitled Officer Updates be received and noted.

CARRIED 9/0

# 7 MEMBER REPORTS

# 7.1 MEMBERS UPDATES

## COMMITTEE RESOLUTION EPRAC020/24

Moved: Councillor Kim Farrar Seconded: Community Representative Ulrike Kachel

THAT the report entitled Members Updates be received and noted.

CARRIED 9/0

# 8 QUESTIONS BY MEMBERS

## COMMITTEE RESOLUTION EPRAC021/24

Moved: Councillor Kim Farrar Seconded: Fannie Bay Equestrian Club Inc. Anja Zimmermann

THAT the following questions by Members be received and noted.

# Question

Community representative Lorraine Corowa enquired about any planned works upgrades in the area near the Rock Sitters Club to address the erosion issue.

## Response

The Executive Manager Environment and Waste Services Nick Fewster responded that an update can be provided at the next meeting.

#### Question

Researcher John Rawsthorne asked for an update on the fishing platform at Dudley Point.

## Response

The Coordinator Environment and Climate Change Emma Smith responded that the new government is in the process of assessing it and that an update can be provided at the next meeting.

```
CARRIED 9/0
```

# 9 GENERAL BUSINESS

Nil

# 10 CLOSURE OF MEETING

# COMMITTEE RESOLUTION EPRAC022/24

Moved: Councillor Kim Farrar Seconded: Community Representative Ulrike Kachel

THAT the meeting be concluded at 5:12 pm

CARRIED 9/0

The minutes of this meeting were confirmed at the East Point Reserve Advisory Committee held on 13 February 2025.

.....

CHAIR