

MINUTES

Arts and Cultural Development Advisory Committee Meeting Wednesday, 8 May 2024

Date: Wednesday, 8 May 2024

Time: 3:30 PM

Location: Meeting Room Bidjpidji (Meeting Room 1)

Level 1, Civic Centre

Harry Chan Avenue, Darwin

MINUTES OF CITY OF DARWIN ARTS AND CULTURAL DEVELOPMENT ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING HELD AT THE MEETING ROOM BIDJPIDJI (MEETING ROOM 1), LEVEL 1, CIVIC CENTRE, HARRY CHAN AVENUE, DARWIN ON WEDNESDAY, 8 MAY 2024 AT 3:30 PM

PRESENT: Community Member (Chairperson) CJ Fraser Bell

Councillor Morgan Rickard

Community Member Kelly Blumberg
Community Member Derrick Cheong
Community Member Teghan Hughes
Community Member Rachael Shanahan

Multicultural Council of the NT Edwin Joseph Darwin Entertainment Centre Melissa White

Arts NT Anja Tinapple

OFFICERS: Jenelle Saunders (Arts and Cultural Development Officer)

Gloria Richards (Arts and Cultural Development Officer)

Angela O'Donnell (Executive Manager Community and Cultural Services)

Ciella Williams (Community Development Officer)

APOLOGIES: Community Member Alyson Evans

Larrakia Nation David Kurnoth

Order of Business

1	Meeting Declared Open		
2	Acknowledgement of Country		. 4
3	Apologies & Leave Of Absence		
4	Electronic Attendance		. 4
5	Declaration of Interest of Members and Staff		
6	Confirmation of Previous Minutes		. 4
7	Actio	ns Arising from Previous Minutes	. 4
8	Actions Arising from Previous Minutes Presentations Officer Reports	5	
9	Officer Reports		. 5
	9.1	Draft Percentage for Arts Policy	. 5
	9.2	Committee Member Terms	. 5
	9.3	Committee Member Key Focus Ideas for 2024	. 5
	9.4	Update on Projects	. 5
10	Member Reports		. 6
11	General Business		. 6
12	Next Meeting		. 6
13	Closure of Meeting		. 6

1 MEETING DECLARED OPEN

The Chair declared the meeting open at 3:45 pm.

2 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

City of Darwin acknowledges that we are living and working on Larrakia Country. We acknowledge the Larrakia people as the Traditional Owners of the Darwin region. We pay our respects to the Larrakia elders past and present and support emerging Larrakia leaders now and into the future. City of Darwin is committed to working together with all Larrakia to care for this land and sea for our shared future.

3 APOLOGIES & LEAVE OF ABSENCE

3.1 Apologies

Community Member Alyson Evans

Larrakia Nation David Kurnoth

- 3.2 Leave of Absence
- 3.3 Leave of Absence Notified

4 ELECTRONIC ATTENDANCE

Councillor Morgan Rickard

Community Member Rachael Shanahan

5 DECLARATION OF INTEREST OF MEMBERS AND STAFF

- 5.1 Declaration of Interest by Members
- 5.2 Declaration of Interest by Staff

6 CONFIRMATION OF PREVIOUS MINUTES

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION AACDA007/24

Moved: Arts NT Anja Tinapple

Seconded: Community Member Kelly Blumberg

THAT the minutes of the Arts and Cultural Development Advisory Committee Meeting held on 7

February 2024 be confirmed.

CARRIED 9/0

7 ACTIONS ARISING FROM PREVIOUS MINUTES

NIL

8 PRESENTATIONS

9 OFFICER REPORTS

9.1 DRAFT PERCENTAGE FOR ARTS POLICY

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION AACDA008/24

Moved: Community Member Derrick Cheong Seconded: Community Member Teghan Hughes

THAT the report entitled Draft Percentage for Arts Policy be received and noted.

CARRIED 9/0

9.2 COMMITTEE MEMBER TERMS

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION AACDA009/24

Moved: Darwin Entertainment Centre Melissa White

Seconded: Community Member Kelly Blumberg

THAT the report entitled Committee Member Terms be received and noted.

CARRIED 9/0

9.3 COMMITTEE MEMBER KEY FOCUS IDEAS FOR 2024

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION AACDA010/24

Moved: Community Member Teghan Hughes

Seconded: Community Member (Chairperson) CJ Fraser Bell

THAT the report entitled Committee Member Key Focus Ideas for 2024 be received and noted.

CARRIED 9/0

9.4 UPDATE ON PROJECTS

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION AACDA011/24

Moved: Darwin Entertainment Centre Melissa White

Seconded: Arts NT Anja Tinapple

THAT the report entitled Update on Projects be received and noted.

CARRIED 9/0

10 MEMBER REPORTS

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION AACDA012/24

Moved: Community Member (Chairperson) CJ Fraser Bell Seconded: Multicultural Council of the NT Edwin Joseph

That members verbal reports on sector events and shared information be received and noted.

CARRIED 9/0

11 GENERAL BUSINESS

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION AACDA013/24

Moved: Community Member (Chairperson) CJ Fraser Bell Seconded: Multicultural Council of the NT Edwin Joseph

That it be noted that Alyson Evans and Rachael Shanahan have volunteered to participate on the Review Panel for the Lightboxes Exhibitons Expression of Interest submissions.

CARRIED 9/0

Councillor Morgan Rickard departed the meeting at 5:04 pm.

12 NEXT MEETING

Wednesday 28 August, 3:30pm – 5:00pm.

13 CLOSURE OF MEETING

Meeting closed 5:07pm.