

MINUTES

Tree Advisory Committee Meeting Thursday, 22 February 2024

MINUTES OF CITY OF DARWIN TREE ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING HELD AT DARWIN INNOVATION HUB LEVEL 1/48-50 SMITH STREET, DARWIN CITY ON THURSDAY, 22 FEBRUARY 2024 AT 9:00 AM

PRESENT: Councillor Morgan Rickard

Australian Institute Landscape Architects Fiona Eddleston

NT Arboriculture Association Richard Kenyon

Parks and Wildlife Bryan Harty

Community Member Dr Greg Leach

OFFICERS: Tracy Bignell (Executive Manager Operations)

Melodee Brencher (Technical Arborist)

Nick Fewster (Executive Manager Environment and Waste Services)

Emma Smith (Coordinator Environment and Climate Change)

Bonne Zhao (Administration Officer) Maya Moon (Administration Officer)

APOLOGY: Lord Mayor Kon Vatskalis

Larrakia Nation Ben Smith

Alternate Councillor Mick Palmer

Community Member Adam Grainger

GUESTS: CSIRO Stephen Cook

CSIRO Ray Marcos Martinez
CSIRO Natthanij Soonsawad

Order Of Business

1	Meeting Declared Open		4
2	Acknowledgement of Country		4
3	Apologies & Leave Of Absence		4
4	Electr	Electronic Attendance	
5	Decla	Declaration of Interest of Members and Staff	
6	Confirmation of Previous Minutes Actions Arising from Previous Minutes Presentations		5
7			
8			
9	Officer Reports		5
	9.1	Review Terms of Reference - Tree Advisory Committee	5
10	Member Reports		5
	10.1	Preferred Tree Species List	5
11		al Business5	
12	Next Meeting		6

APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR

That Councillor Morgan Rickard is appointed as chair for the meeting.

1 MEETING DECLARED OPEN

The Chair declared the meeting open at 9:17am

2 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

City of Darwin acknowledges that we are living and working on Larrakia Country. We acknowledge the Larrakia people as the Traditional Owners of the Darwin region. We pay our respects to the Larrakia elders past and present and support emerging Larrakia leaders now and into the future. City of Darwin is committed to working together with all Larrakia to care for this land and sea for our shared future.

3 APOLOGIES & LEAVE OF ABSENCE

3.1 Apologies

Lord Mayor Kon Vatskalis

Larrakia Nation Ben Smith

Alternate Councillor Mick Palmer

Community Member Adam Grainger

- 3.2 Leave of Absence
- 3.3 Leave of Absence Notified

4 ELECTRONIC ATTENDANCE

Nick Frewster - Executive Manager Environment and Waste Services

CSIRO Stephen Cook

CSIRO Ray Marcos Martinez

CSIRO Natthanij Soonsawad

5 DECLARATION OF INTEREST OF MEMBERS AND STAFF

5.1 Declaration of Interest by Members

Nil

5.2 Declaration of Interest by Staff

Nil

6 CONFIRMATION OF PREVIOUS MINUTES

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION TAC016/24

Moved: Parks and Wildlife Bryan Harty Seconded: Community Member Dr Greg Leach

That the minutes of the Tree Advisory Committee Meeting held on 23 November 2023 be

confirmed.

CARRIED 5/0

7 ACTIONS ARISING FROM PREVIOUS MINUTES

Nil

8 PRESENTATIONS

Nil

9 OFFICER REPORTS

9.1 REVIEW TERMS OF REFERENCE - TREE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION TAC017/24

Moved: Councillor Morgan Rickard

Seconded: NT Arboriculture Association Richard Kenyon

- 1. THAT the report entitled Review Terms of Reference Tree Advisory Committee be received and noted.
- THAT the Tree Advisory Committee endorse the proposed changes to the Functions and Membership sections of the Terms of Reference at Attachment 1 and refer these to Council for approval subject to the amendment of section 4c and 4d to reflect a review period of four years.

CARRIED 5/0

10 MEMBER REPORTS

10.1 PREFERRED TREE SPECIES LIST

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION TAC018/24

Moved: Australian Institute Landscape Architects Fiona Eddleston

Seconded: Parks and Wildlife Bryan Harty

THAT the Preferred Tree Species List to be received by council officers no later than the 30 April 2024 to be included in the agenda for the Tree Advisory Committee meeting of 23 May 2024.

CARRIED 5/0

11 GENERAL BUSINESS

Nil

12 NEXT MEETING

23 May 2024

13 MEETING CLOSED

The open section of the meeting closed at 9:27am.

