

Frequently Asked Questions Lyons Ward By-Election 2023

Why is there a by-election?

There are four Wards, Chan, Richardson, Lyons and Waters, and each has three Elected Members. Councillor Paul Arnold, who represented the Lyons Ward resigned effective Monday 22 May 2023. This election will fill the vacancy left by Councillor Arnold.

Where is Lyons Ward?

Lyons Ward includes the suburbs of Bayview, Darwin City, Fannie Bay, The Gardens, Larrakeyah, Parap, Stuart Park and Woolner. NOTE: people living in the suburb of Lyons do NOT have to vote, they are in the Richardson Ward.

Who has to vote?

Australia has compulsory voting, which means that if you live in the Lyons Ward you must vote. Please check that your details are up to date at the Australian Electoral Commission site - <u>https://check.aec.gov.au/</u> or call 1800 698 683. You must be registered on the electoral roll by Tuesday 15 August.

What happens if I don't vote?

It is compulsory to vote in any election in Australia if you are registered on the electoral role. You will be fined if you don't vote.

Who is running the by-election?

The Northern Territory Electoral Commission (NTEC) has been appointed the Returning Officer and will administer the by-election. Information can be found on NTEC website: https://ntec.nt.gov.au/elections/NT-Local-Government-Council-elections

Information for Candidates

An Information Session for interested candidates will be held on Tuesday 1 August from 5:30 to 6:30, in the Civic Centre Function area, first floor Civic Centre, Harry Chan Avenue. The Northern Territory Electoral Commission will administer the election – please contact them for information on nominating and voting systems.

Visit for more information: <u>https://ntec.nt.gov.au/elections/current-elections/2023-city-of-darwin,-lyons-ward-by-election/information-for-candidates</u>

Lyons Ward By-Election 2023



Key Dates

Date	Information
Tuesday 1 August	Candidate information session
Thursday 10 August	Nominations open
Tuesday 15 August	Electoral roll closes
Friday 18 August	Midday - Nominations close 1pm - Declaration of nominations and draw for position on ballot paper/s
Monday 21 August	Postal vote mailout commences Mobile voting commences
Saturday 26 August	Early voting commences
Thursday 31 August	All postal voting despatch ceases
Saturday 2 September	8am - Election day voting commences 6pm - Election day voting ceases Primary counts of ordinary, postal and early votes commence
Monday 18 September	10am - Declaration of election result

What is the voting system?

The voting system used is full preferential voting where the voter must mark a number '1' on the ballot paper next to their most preferred candidate, and the numbers '2', '3' and so on against all the other candidates on the ballot paper until all the squares have been numbered in order of the voter's choice. For more information, please see the Northern Territory Electoral Commission's website - <u>https://ntec.nt.gov.au/elections/NT-Local-Government-Council-elections</u>.