The role of the Council is to provide public services, make wise decisions in the interests of the community in a balanced way for the greatest benefit, to initiate, coordinate and serve as a catalyst for local effort, and to represent the community in the State/Territory and national contexts.

The Council is made up of 13 Elected Members, one of whom is the Lord Mayor, and all are elected by the people. Elections are held every four years, the next one in August 2017.

Find out more about the Council.

Community and Cultural Services

PeopleCouncil's Community and Cultural Services directorate supports the rich and vibrant Darwin community in many ways

Infrastructure and Maintenance

Infrastructure and maintenanceCouncil's Infrastructure and Maintenenance Department help to ensure that your city stays accessible, safe and beautiful

Council Projects

Major projectsLearn more about some of Council's major infrastructure and strategic projects